Carmelites of Mary Immaculate

St Joseph's province, Thiruvananthapuram

Search First Prev Back Next
Province of St Joseph, Thiruvananthapuram
The St Joseph’s Province was spread out over the vast southern area of Kerala coextensive with the area of the dioceses of Changanacherry and Palai of that time. As activities of the Province became too numerous and the administration too unwieldy, it was bifurcated into two provinces namely St Joseph’s Province Kottayam and St Joseph’s Province Thiruvananthapuram in 1979.

The territory of St Joseph’s Province, Thiruvnanthapuram is almost co-extensive with the territory of the Archdiocese of Changanacherry and that of the Diocese of Thuckalai except part of the foranes of Athirampuzha, Nedumkunnam and Manimala. It geographically comprises the revenue district of Kanyakumari in Tamilnadu and the revenue districts of Thiruvananthapuram, Quilon and major portions of the revenue districts of Pathanamthitta, Alleppey and Kottayam .
Search First Prev Back Next